NEVER EXIST ALONE

#neverexistalone

I was a young successful, independent woman, living all by myself. I had too much money to splurge. But I was little different for which I was proud. I always ensured that a reasonable part of my income went for charity, while my friends would spend on shopping and partying. Instead of giving random donations here and there, I preferred to give money to an organisation run by known and reliable people.
Hence, I got associated with a local Home for Aged run by one of our family friends, where I would give every month a fixed amount of cash. First week of every month, someone from the Home would come and collect the cheque. But this time around, I got a call from the Home. They requested me to come and give it personally citing difficulty in sending someone. They also said it would be good if I look around the Home and meet the inmates.
Being a very a ‘busy’ person, rather reluctantly I took out some time to visit the Home. Completing the purpose of the visit, I wondered whether I should get into the lounge of the Home to catch up with any elderly or not. All the while in the back of my mind, I was thinking about my work left behind. Very hesitantly, believing that I would lose a lot of time, I looked around.
After spotting an elderly lady sitting alone on a bench out side the lounge, I went closer to her. Bending little forward, casually to seek her attention said “Amma! How are you?” She turned to me, with a broad smile gently pulled my hands towards her moving little aside made me sit beside her. Patting my cheeks, she said “I am happy dear, you made me happy enquiring how I am.” Her whole presence was expressing certain unconditional love. Involuntarily, my frowning face turned up in to a smile . As she spoke random things, I was simply listening to her unmindful of the time. I enjoyed her company. I felt I have been waiting for some one to talk to me the way she spoke.
The simple question “How are you?” not only made her happy but made me happy deep within.
The kind of happiness that I never felt before. Not even when I signed cheques for donation.
Now, every month I go to the Home to hand over the cheque personally. In that pretext, I also spend time with the elderly there. ~~~

It is a fiction based on a fundamental truth that we humans need some one to give us emotional satisfaction.
Leading an independent life on our own terms looks charming but somewhere in a deeper level it is very depressing. We can’t exist in isolation, in a superficial world where all our relationships are shallow. Money never can buy us emotional satisfaction.
While on the other hand there are many underprivileged, the old or orphaned living in emotional isolation.
They not only need a helping hand but also need some one who show that they care.

Through this fictional work, I intend give a message to those successful yet lonely souls
” Never exist alone. No need to exist alone. There are many waiting to shower their unconditional love on you. Get up and go to them. Make them happy with your presence and see how you feel inside.”

8 thoughts on “NEVER EXIST ALONE

  1. Nice Post Sailaja!

    But the eternal truth is that one is always alone. One might be with many people around them but from within everyone is alone.

    To make everyone understand the fact, nature sets example everyday. When one comes or goes it is all alone that one has to do this.

    Since one grows learning living with the external world one feel lonliness. Those who learnt living within, ask them, they are never alone.

    http://kantutpal.blogspot.in/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you Sir. I do agree.
    A yogi is the one who rejoices his own company. But to reach to that level of understanding, we need to be emotionally content. I believe, that contentment in life we can derive only through giving and also by experiencing unconditional love.

    Like

  3. If only this fiction was true. Often, in the wake of ambitions, youngsters leave behind their parents. It makes me so sad. Even I am away from my parents and feel so guilty. But to care for them is a true achievement, no matter what.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment